NYRA Stewards

On many occasions the decisions the stewards in New York make on a daily basis have boggled my mind. I have screamed and yelled in private and have wrote about them in the lead of our horses to watch newsletter, the American Turf Club. But this past week at Saratoga two decisions on consectitive days have to be addressed but I am sure it never will. Before Saratoga started it was announced that the Stewards would explain their decisions they have made and put this up on NYRA’s website.

I was very happy to hear this because I have been asking for years to have the stewards explain their decisions and be held accountable for the change or non-change in the order of finish and give the bettors, who by the way keep this game going, a reason for why they did or did not take a horse down. But after the seeing some of the explainations it is not what I was looking for. Here is a following decision for race 9 at Saratoga on July 29th, “RACE 9 – Inquiry and objection race 9 inside the 16th pole. Number 3 against 9 for alleged interference. After viewing the films the result will be official as is.” Well that’s great everyone knows the results stand as is, we can see it on the board, how about the reasoning behind it, why did you leave it up, give me some insight to the thought process.

Well in my opinion it gets worse, on September 3rd there was an inquiry and disqualification in race 5 and on the following day the result stood in race 6. I had an interest on September 3rd and no interest on September 4th. I know everyone is saying well of course you were taken down thats why you think it is a bad call. Well maybe, but I don’t believe that to be true. On September 3rd, race 5, PALOOZA, who was battling for the lead throughout, took over from her rival inside, was over a length clear began to drift out towards the middle of the track and OVERSEAS MARKET altered course and got up for second. The inquiry went up as well as an objection and after a lengthy look at it the stewards took down PALOOZA. Here was their reasoning behind it, please look rule number they posted with this explanation. “RACE 5: Inquiry and jockeys objection #7 Palooza jockey J. Castellano drifts out at the 1/16 pole causing #1 Overseas Market jockey R. Dominguez to alter course. # 7 disqualified and placed 2nd.”

4035.2. Foul riding penalized.
(a) When clear, a horse may be taken to any part of the course provided that crossing or weaving in front of contenders may constitute interference or intimidation for which the offender may be disciplined.
(b) A horse crossing another may be disqualified, if in the judgment of the stewards, it interferes with, impedes or intimidates another horse, or the foul altered the finish of the race, regardless of whether the foul was accidental, willful, or the result of careless riding. The stewards may also take into consideration mitigating factors, such as whether the impeded horse was partly at fault or the crossing was wholly caused by the fault of some other horse or jockey

On the very next day in race number 6, a race I had no interest in from a betting standpoint the leader ASTROLOGY started to go by his rival to his inside. As he was about a length clear, he drifted in and forced TO HONOR AND STEVE to take up and he finished second. Now in both instances, the winner of the race was going to win and the second place finisher was going to run second. There was no intent in either instance and remember we are dealing with two year olds here. I could not believe, however, that ASTROLOGY was not taken down considering what happened the day before. I waited for the explanation from the stewards and here it is, again take note of the rule they stated. “RACE 6: Inquiry in to stretch run involving # 4 Astrology [ A Garcia] And # 1 To Honor and Serve [J Velazquez] # 4 drifts in while passing # 1 causing # 1 to steady
After viewing the films the race is official as is.”

4035.2. Foul riding penalized.
(a) When clear, a horse may be taken to any part of the course provided that crossing or weaving in front of contenders may constitute interference or intimidation for which the offender may be disciplined.
(b) A horse crossing another may be disqualified, if in the judgment of the stewards, it interferes with, impedes or intimidates another horse, or the foul altered the finish of the race, regardless of whether the foul was accidental, willful, or the result of careless riding. The stewards may also take into consideration mitigating factors, such as whether the impeded horse was partly at fault or the crossing was wholly caused by the fault of some other horse or jockey.

It is the same rule, a rule that basically states it could be taken down if it alters the result of the race in their opinion. I thought the whole idea was to not hurt the public if the results of the race were not altered. Now I understand that this can’t be the outcome every time there is an infraction because some are worse then others. But when almost the identical thing happens two days in a row and one day there is a D’Q and the next day there isn’t something is not right. I know many people from the racetrack, most of them play on a daily basis and play big money. I had three calls after that race on September 4th and they all wanted to know how could one horse come down the day before and the very next day the horse stays up, I am thinking the same thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to NYRA Stewards

  1. Great writing! You might want to follow up on this topic?!

  2. The greatest paper I have read all week :)

  3. aparadekto says:

    Hey, I can’t view your site properly within Opera, I actually hope you look into fixing this.

  4. Useful blog website, keep me personally through searching it, I am seriously interested to find out another recommendation of it.

  5. I am glad to be one of several visitants on this great internet site (:, appreciate it for putting up.

  6. Valuable info. Lucky me I found your site by accident, I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>